Encoding treadmill speed sensor

Hi Chris,

I am a PhD student at the University of Fribourg in Schmid Lab. We are currently setting up a mouse experiment using virtual reality. Our goal is to control the visual flow of the stimulus through a custom-made speed sensor connected to both the treadmill and the computer via USB. The circuit employs a PIC16F1939 microcontroller and the USB interface is a FTDI chip. The USB connection is through a VCM Port having following parameters: 9600bps, 8 data bits, no parity, 1 stop bit (9600 8-N-1).

We have a couple of specific questions:

1. We would like to understand how to encode the output information signal from our custom speed sensor in a format that MWorks can interpret as a speed value. Do you have any recommendations for serial reader software (e.g. CoolTerm) or any other way to achieve this?
  2. To connect the device, would you suggest using a digital signal recorded via USB, or do you think an analog output (e.g., through a National Instruments Card) would be more suitable for our setup?

Thank you in advance. Best,

Marta Falkowska

Hi Marta,

If the FTDI chip is configured as a virtual COM port, macOS should recognize it as a serial device when it’s connected via USB. The question then is how to communicate with the device (via serial I/O) within MWorks.

The quickest solution would be to use Python actions and pySerial to receive data from the device. Basically, your Python code would periodically read input data from the serial connection, convert it to a speed value, and then use the setvar function to assign the speed to an MWorks variable, so that the value can be used in the experiment.