Question about update_stimulus_display

Hi there,

I try to present rhythmic stimuli in a part of my experiment like"…1212121…" (start and end can both either be 1 or 2), so i write a transitional sentence that will go to the previous task_system_state to make a loop (for the related code see line 80-88 and 150-197).

The experiment generally works fine; however, approximately 1 in 5 trials there will be a display problem like “… 1(1 second) 2 (1 second) 1 (a blink, maybe 1 frame) 2(1 second) …” (given the period is 2 second). I check the code myself first. I find when this problem happens, after “update_stimulus_display” either "stimulus_ending_1” or “stimulus_ending_2” will change (e.g. 0 , 0 → 0, true; they should always be 0; in line 180 and 184), but I do not know why this happens.

Besides, I am a beginner in MWorks. I used to program on psychtoolbox and I was taught to always write a time slack: if the refresh rate of a monitor is 50Hz (20ms per frame), and the stimulus duration I want to present is 600ms, I should let the computer update the stimulus at 590ms. Otherwise, if I make it 600ms, due to the delay of the command or whatever, stimulus may present 31 (30+1) frames. I do not know if this works for the MWorks Timer.

Thanks,
Xiang

Attachment: pingpong.xml (25.1 KB)

I forget to mention my MWorks version is 0.7 and my OS X version is 10.10.5 .

Hi Xiang,

I think I see what’s going on.

Because you reset stimulus_ending_1 and stimulus_ending_2 after dequeueing the stimuli but before invoking update_stimulus_display, the “old” stimulus is sometimes setting the “ending” variable a second time. (This happens due to some details of the implementation – not a bug, exactly, but certainly unhelpful in this case.)

The fix is to alter the transitions out of the stimulus_execution_3 state to require that the current stimulus is ending and ignore the previous stimulus. For example, on line 195, you should change the transition condition from