Creating MWorks plugin

Hello Chris,

I’m currently a rotation student with the Movshon lab at NYU and have been working with Najib on developing a plug-in for MWorks. We’d like to be able set the monitor’s gamma values, run a calibration in case gamma values are not known, and set monitor resolution and refresh rate.

The short story is that I have been unable to figure out how the client (grabbing data from the user via some graphical interface) sends variable updates to the server so that the server can take specific actions for each updated variable.

The more detailed story is that I’ve looked around the code a fair amount and have run into some issues:

The variables window plug-in works in the same way that we envision for our display plugin. I found in the code (file MWVariablesDataSource.m in plugins–>client–>VariablesWindow) where the “branches” of variables (e.g. system variables, experiment variables) are loaded, where each variable is loaded into the display and where user modification of the variable is handled. I’m not sure how this file, though, interacts with the GUI found in Main.xib of the same project.

Putting aside that approach, I created my own GUI but was unable to establish a link between the GUI and acting on the values in the GUI.

What’s the approach that you recommend? Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Paul

Hi Paul,

I’d recommend having a look at Apple’s introductory Mac development tutorial, which covers the basics of implementing a graphical UI and associated back end.

Cheers,
Chris

Hi Chris,

Since I’m partially responsible for Paul’s inquiry, I though maybe I’d try to re-explain the issue.